1. Archbishop Joseph Attipetty

Archbishop Joseph Attipetty was the first indigenous Archbishop of Verapoly. He was born on 25th  Jun 1894 at Ochanthuruth and was Ordianed priest on 18th  December 1926. He was Ordained Bishop on 11th June 1933. Most of the institutions of the Archdiocese: St. Albert’s College Ernakulam, St. Paul’s College Kalamassery, Little Flower Engineering  Institute Kalamassery ecc were founded during his time. He was the Archbishop of Verapoly for 37 years. Archbishop Joseph Attipetty died on 21 Jan 1970.

2. Archbishop Joseph Kelanthara
Archbishop Joseph Kelanthara was the second indigenous Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Verapoly. He was born on 19th January 1918 at Panangad and was Ordianed priest on 18 March 1949. He was Ordained Bishop on 4th April 1971. Archbishop Joseph Kelanthara died on 19 October 1986.

3. Archbishop Cornelius  Elanjikal

 Archbishop  Cornelius  Elanjikal was the third indigenous Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Verapoly. He was born to Kunjavira and Thressia in in Kara, on 8 September 1918. He completed his pastoral studies at St. Joseph’s Pontifical Seminary, Mangalappuzha and was ordained a priest on 18 March 1945. H e obtained his Ph.D. in Hindu Theology with special reference to Brihadaranyaka and Chandokya Upanishads and Doctorate in Canon Law from Propaganda College, Rome. He was appointed as Bishop to the Diocese of Vijayapuram on 16 January 1971 and was consecrated on 4 April 1971. Archbishop Cornelius was appointed to the Archdiocese of Verapoly on 26 January 1987. He also served as the President of Kerala Catholic Bishops’ Council (KCBC). He retired from active service on 14 June 1996. He died on 7 October 2011.

4. Archbishop Daniel Acharuparambil

 Archbishop  Daniel Acharuparambil was the forth indigenous Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Verapoly. He was born of Rocky and Monica Acharuparambil in Palliport on 12 May 1939. Ordained to the priesthood on 14 March 1966, he was a member of Discalced Carmelite Order, Manjummel Province, Kerala, India. In 1972 he started teaching at Pontifical Urbaniana University (P.U.U), Rome. In 1978 Acharuparambil was awarded a Ph.D. from Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas, Angelicum, Rome with an dissertation entitled The destiny of man in the evolutionary thought of Sri Aurobindo. In 1986 he became Dean of the Faculty of Missiology at P.U.U. From 1988 to 1994, i.e. for two terms, he also served as ‘Rector magnificus’ at P.U.U. He was consulter of the Pontifical Council for Inter-religious Dialogue for 5 years from 1990. He was also consulter of the Congregation for Evangelization of the Peoples, a member of the Pontifical Council for Inter-religious Duologue.

He was nominated Archbishop of Verapoly on 5 August 1996 and was consecrated on 3 November 1996 by Josef Cardinal Tomko, Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, Rome. He was the President of Kerala Regional Latin Catholic Council, President of K. C. B. C, Chairman of Kerala Catholic Bishops Council, President of Kerala Catholic Bishops Council. Archbishop Daniel Acharuparambil died on 26 October 2009 .

5. Archbishop Francis Kallarakal

 Archbishop  Francis Kallarakal was the fifth indigenous Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Verapoly. He was born to Kallarackal Ouso and Brigitte of Kottapuram on 10 October 1941. He completed his Masters in Theology from Propaganda College, Rome and was ordained as priest on 29 June 1968. He holds a Licentiate in Sacred Theology from Pontifical Urbaniana University, Rome and Post Graduation from Fairfiled University, USA. When he returned from abroad in 1970, he was appointed secretary to the then Archbishop Joseph Kelanthara. From 1978 to 1986 he served as the social action director of the Archdiocese. He was then appointed the administrator of St. John’s Medical College, Bangalore, which is established and managed by the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India.

In 1987, as the Diocese of Kottapuram was created through the bifurcation of the Archdiocese of Verapoly, he became the first bishop of Kottapuram by the Apostolic Letter “Romani et Pontificis” dated 3 July 1987. With his episcopal consecration on the feast day of St. Francis Assisi, the Diocese of Kottapuram was inaugurated on 4 October 1987. Archbishop Francis Kallarakkal is the Vice President of the Kerala Catholic Bishops Council and Kerala Regional Latin Catholic Council . He serves as vice-chairman of the Media Commission of the Kerala Catholic Bishops’ Council, Chairman of the Carmelgiri Pontifical Seminary Episcopal Commission and KRLCC publication “Jeevanadam”.

As the Metropolitan Archbishop of Verapoly, he called a Diocesan Synod. The Diocesan Synod in Verapoly proposed major reforms in the Archdiocese, giving the laity more participation in the Church. On compleing 75 years Archbishop Kallarakal’s  resignation was accepted by Holy Father Pope Francis. On 30th October 2016, Bishop Dr. Joseph Kalathiparambil was nominated as the new Archbishop of Verapoly and His Grace Most Rev. Dr. Francis Kallarakal was appointed as the Apostolic Administrator of the Archdiocese of Verapoly.

6.Archbishop Joseph Kalathiparambil

Archbishop Joseph Kalathiparambil is the sixth and the present indigenous Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Verapoly. Archbishop Joseph Kalathiparambil was born on October 6, 1952 in Vaduthala. He was ordained a priest on March 13, 1978 by Archbishop Joseph Kelanthara .He is specialized in Canon Law from Rome and was appointed Vice Rector of Collegio San Paolo in Rome from 1984 to 1989. Later he moved back to Kerala and was appointed Chancellor of the Archdiocese of Verapoly on August 15, 1989. He served as the Chancellor for the Archdiocese from 1989 to 1996. He was granted the title of Chaplain of His Holiness, Monsignor, in 1989 by Pope John Paul II. On November 6, 1996, he was made the Vicar General of Archdiocese of Verapoly. He was advanced to the papal Prelacy of Honour on January 31, 2001. He served as the Vicar-General of the Archdiocese from 1996 to 2002.

He was nominated Bishop of Calicut on April 19, 2002 and was consecrated on May 19, 2002. He served as the Bishop of Calicut for almost 9 years and was then appointed by Pope Benedict XVI as the Secretary of the Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerants on February 22, 2011. On March 5, he was also appointed as a Member of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples.  On 30th October 2016, Bishop Dr. Joseph Kalathiparambil was nominated as the new Archbishop Designate of Verapoly and his Installation ceremony was taken place on 18th of December 2016 at Vallarpadam Basilica.